WHY YOU SHOULD KNOW YOUR CPL LIKE THE BACK OF YOUR HAND
Have you ever run a marketing campaign, spent a little money, got a couple leads, and at the end of your day wondered if it was a good use of your funds? Well, you’re not alone. On a daily basis, I talk to business owners who face the same complication. One of the first and most important metrics to track and determine is a target cost per lead (CPL). If you’re like most business owners, you want lots of leads for very little money. But to truly set up and build a successful campaign, you must first determine the most you are willing to spend on a lead. We all want lots of leads for free, but marketing costs money. The question is, how can you spend your money profitably?
Understanding CPL
CPL is what it costs you to get one lead. So if you spend $10,000 on a marketing campaign and you get 100 leads, your CPL is $100. Whether or not that’s a good deal is completely dependent on your business. Let’s go over how you can determine what a good deal looks like.
We have clients whose target CPL ranges from thousands of dollars to under $20. The easiest way to determine your CPL is to take your average deal size and look at annual customer value. Annual customer value is more helpful for an individual purchase. For instance, if you sell a customer a bag of consumable widgets for $250 on average once a month, then your average customer is worth $3,000 revenue annually. Likewise, if a service provider has a typical engagement size of $12,000, and a customer only buys once a year, then the annual customer revenue is $12,000.
In this example, let’s take a business that has determined their annual customer revenue is $12,000. Determine your gross profit on a deal. For simplicity sake, we’ll go with a 50% gross profit, leaving us with $6,000 in gross profit.
Interested in reading the rest of this article?
You can find the full-length version on Forbes.
GLOBE RUNNER WELCOMES MATT CUTTS AS DIRECTOR OF SEARCH
Note: This was Globe Runner’s 2015 April Fool’s prank.
Contrary to popular belief, Matt Cutts never actually left Google.
You can read more about this on our follow-up post, here.
Matt Cutts and Bill Hartzer from Globe Runner
Globe Runner is pleased to welcome our latest employee, Matt Cutts, as Director of Search. Mr. Cutts, a well-known authority in Search and former head of Google’s Web Spam team, will join Globe Runner effective April 1, 2015.
Cutts brings 15 years of experience in search and is a well-known, respected thought leader in search strategy, search quality, and web spam. Mr. Cutts has been very vocal about search during his tenure at Google. As the lead liaison to webmasters and website owners, he has appeared at numerous search industry conferences, including SMX West, and Pubcon. Mr. Cutts has also appeared in numerous Google Webmaster videos.
Before joining Google, Matt Cutts worked on his Ph.D. in computer graphics at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. He has an M.S. from UNC-Chapel Hill, and B.S. degrees in both mathematics and computer science from the University of Kentucky.
Matt Cutts joins Globe Runner in its holistic approach to digital marketing clients across various marketing channels such as search engine optimization, paid search, social media and email marketing. “I’m honored to have joined a very skilled and experienced international team that delivers valuable digital marketing services to its clients. It’s very refreshing to see an agency where the clients are the number one focus,” said Cutts.
Eric McGehearty, CEO of Globe Runner, states, “Matt’s extensive experience not only includes fighting web spam at Google, he understands the various search engine algorithm ranking factors. While we don’t expect Mr. Cutts to help our SEO team game the Google algorithm, he will be heavily involved with training our current SEO staff. Going forward, we will continue to focus on SEO best practices, and Matt will be a big part of this effort. Combined with his search knowledge, Matt has been active on social media channels such as Twitter, which will help him consult on client accounts that have search and social media accounts.”
Mr. Cutts had the following to say about joining Globe Runner: “I have been in the search industry for several years, and, after a lengthy period of time away from Google, the internet, and social media, I felt it was time for a change. While I have enjoyed my time at Google, by joining an industry-leading Search agency, I felt that I can make much more of a difference in the search industry over the long run.”
If you are interested in working with us here at Globe Runner, feel free to use our contact page on the site.
COMMUNICATE BETTER: WEB DEV LINGO 101
The company website is the new business card. It’s the face you present to the world – a digital handshake, your first impression. As a mission-critical part of any digital marketing plan, getting it right is important.
Maybe you’re creating one for the first time. Perhaps your site simply needs a little updating as part of a brand rediscovery. Whether you’re building it in-house or using a digital marketing and web development firm, you and your team need to speak the same language.
This glossary of basic web development terms will help.
- CMS or Content Management System– WordPress and Drupal are popular examples of a CMS; a software system focused on web content. It creates an easy way for users to make text and image updates to their site without using HTML and allow your development team to add advanced features.
- HTML or Hypertext Markup Language- These are the building blocks of your site. Each web page has a markup language that structures the content therein and has the ability to describe it. Search Engines recognize this as the most basic language on the web, followed by CSS, PHP, ASP, Javascript, jQuery (see below).
- CSS or Cascading Style Sheets- This file tells browsers, mobile phones, tablets, projectors, and other devices how to display your site. Where HTML pages create a foundation, a CSS denotes how it should be styled. This includes regulating the consistency of essential elements like logos, fonts, images, menu pages, etc.
- IA or Information Architecture- Without well-designed, organized text content, your site is nothing but pretty pictures. IA ensures your site is easy to navigate and displays the top features using a planned sitemap and wireframes for each page.
- JavaScript- Programming language #3. This one comes to us from Sun Microsystems Corporation. Web apps use this language for motion elements like drop-downs, scroll-overs, or simple animations. Search Engines are still unable to read Javascript files, but they’re important for your user experience and branding.
- jQuery- This open source JavaScript library uses common functions to accelerate development with complex client-based JavaScript applications. It’s the most popular JavaScript library among programmers, allowing them to easily navigate everything from documents and animations to plug-ins and widgets.
- MySQL- Another open source database management system used in many web applications.
- PHP- Once classified as “Personal Home Page,” today, PHP is understood as an open source, C-like, programming and server-side scripting language. Dynamic websites use them to power millions of open source projects.
- Sitemap- According to our own web development expert, Daniel Edwards, “Sitemap can be a difficult keyword to decipher. It’s both technical and conceptual. Conceptually, it helps drive a site’s navigation and approach. From a technical standpoint, xml feeds illustrate the concept of a website and inform Google how large or small the site is.”
- UI or User Interface/UX or User Experience– Anything a user can view and manipulate on your site or app makes up the user interface. These include the screen itself, cursors, and keyboards as well as the menus. Conversely, the user experience (UX) has to do with a person’s emotions, attitudes, and ease-of-use accessing your website. Improving the UX Design of your site, improves the user experience of your site, making it easier for them to interact with your product or service.
- Wireframe– This “skeletal” foundation of your site is a visual representation of its content sans design. It’s more concerned with the layout structure than the text or graphics that will eventually flesh it out.
Even if your job never requires you to become fully fluent in web design, it’s good to have a basic grasp of the language. The sooner you get your site up and running, the sooner you can focus on driving more web traffic to it.
SHOWCASE SELECTED STUDENT ARTWORK FROM SHELTON SCHOOL
For more than forty years the June Shelton School and Evaluation Center, a center famous for its unparalleled curriculum, dedicated its resources and highly trained staff to helping those who learn differently engage and empower themselves for the future. By doing this, they encouraged all students with learning differences, such as dyslexia, to work toward a common goal and reach educational milestones successfully.
Among its staff are various Alumni including the reputable entrepreneur and Globe Runner CEO Eric McGehearty, a man who proudly credits a large portion of his success to the time he spent studying with the professional staff of the Shelton School. As a means to give back some of that amazing success he gained from attending this school, Eric, along with his SEO and online Marketing Company, decided to once again represent the amazing talent found at Shelton School.
During this event, parents and guests are invited to see some of the Shelton School’s best artists showcasing their work. Among the pieces to be shown, expect to see artists of all age groups and backgrounds, as well as a variety of learning differences. Through differences come unique perspectives, and guests might just leave with a renewed sense of wonder.
The student showcase begins on Monday, February 20th and will run until Friday, February 24th. On opening night, Monday, February 20th, parents are invited to come see the talent of their children and their children’s classmates firsthand.
In total, roughly 20 art pieces of all mediums will be viewable at Gallery 550, located inside Globe Runner’s Addison office. This is only the second time in the school’s history that students will show in one of Addison’s few art exhibits, as well as the city’s second business and gallery combination.
“As a sculptor and MFA graduate of the University of North Texas, supporting and encouraging future artists is as close to my heart as the Shelton School itself,” Eric says, “The goal of Gallery 550 was always to make meaningful contributions to the Addison community through art. I’m so pleased to have found a way to support both the community at large as well as the invaluable work and enormous talent of the Shelton School.”
Linda Kneese, Head of Shelton School, says, “The arts are a very important part of the education students receive at Shelton. We are proud to be able to highlight their talents in this show.”
About Globe Runner
Globe Runner is an Addison, Texas based search engine optimization (SEO), content marketing and digital advertising agency. It has over 60 local, national and international B2C and B2B clients in consumer-packaged goods (CPG), beauty, credit repair, fashion, healthcare, home and interiors, jewelry, legal services and sports. Globe Runner sits on the boards of the Dallas Fort Worth Search Engine Marketing Association (DFWSEM) and the Social Media Club of Dallas (SMC Dallas). The agency’s staff and work have been featured in the Wall Street Journal, Forbes and Adweek.
About June Shelton School and Evaluation Center
The June Shelton School and Evaluation Center was founded by Dr. June Ford Shelton in 1976. It has since grown over its 40 years into an international demonstration, resource and research center. With a staff of almost 250 the Shelton School serves close to 915 students with learning differences, including dyslexia and related disorders. The school provides specific instruction/remediation for students in pre-school (3 years of age) through 12th grade in a supportive and nurturing atmosphere. Drama, music, art, library and PE/athletics enhance the total school program.
Shelton’s Evaluation Center provides psycho-educational assessments for clients from the Dallas area and beyond. The Teacher Education department provides teacher training in a variety of programs including SEE, Alphabetic Phonics, the Association Method and Montessori Applied to At-Risk students. Other private services offered at Shelton include Occupational Therapy and Sensory Integration and Social Skills Therapy. Both services are provided through Integrative Pediatrics.
HOW TO IMPLEMENT SCHEMA INTO YOUR CONTENT
If you’re looking for a new technique to enhance your SEO, Schema is a powerful tool to boost your search engine result pages, also referred to as (SERPs). Not too many people use Schema, but it’s something that most people see and interact with on a daily basis.
Why Is It Important?
Not only does Schema enhance your general search engine results, and the way that they are displayed to users, but they can improve your click through rates on your website. Schema allows Google to show your website to a larger variety of searches, further gaining the attention of a wider audience.
Where & How To Use Schema
There are a variety of ways you can implement Schema into your own content in order to enhance your rich snippets, and expand your audience.
When you use Schema markup on your own company reviews, you can cherry pick which ones you like the most, and have those displayed to users. Keep in mind you might consider throwing in at least a 4.0 star review, over 5 star reviews to make it seem more realistic. A 4.8 star review will make your company stand above the rest, without looking too good to be true.
Health plays an important role in our lifestyles today, and with everyone monitoring their calories (especially with the New Year just starting), restaurants will want to inform their customers of the nutrition facts for their food. If you’re a restaurant owner, or any type of food related industry, an easy way to add Schema to your business page is to use the markup to create nutritional facts for your users to read.
Other Examples
Celebrities/Public Figures
This example of Oprah Winfrey shows specific information about her life, including her birth date, zodiac sign, and educational background. This information was embedded in the code in order to produce the rich snippet and improve SERPs.
Events
When you use a site, such as Ticketmaster, it’s easy to see the Schema implemented in the search results. By incorporating Schema, they’re getting free additional links, as you can see in the sample, by providing specific dates and show times that link directly to that performance to purchase a ticket.

Movies
The next time you search for a movie, or a website, such as IMBD, you’ll find that Schema comes in handy when trying to find specific information, like ratings and genre.


GOOGLE CHANGES NEW SEARCH RESULTS PAGE LAYOUT
Google is constantly updating to keep up with the latest in trends and digital developments, and recently they’ve made some subtle, yet important changes to the search results page layout. Although they are cosmetic, these small changes can have quite a big impact, and play a much larger role when it comes to tracking analytics for both paid and organic searches.
Below is the before and after pictures of what Google’s design was, and what it looks like today for their homepage.
Before
After
The subtle design features a much more distinct box around each item, with a drop shadow on the home page. You can find that changes were made to both the search results, as well as the search engine page.
Each search result is now more distinguished, and as you can see from the image below, the ads are more difficult to decipher from the organic results. The only thing that really separates the ads from the organics is the small green box to the left of the ad. This small separation will make it more difficult for users to identify the difference between the two, and I expect it to increase click through rates on the ads.
I first noted this change as of 01/19/17, and we’ll continue to track changes to the search results. We will be tracking to see if there’s any change in paid versus organic traffic for our clients.
FREE 2017 CONTENT CALENDAR TEMPLATE (DOWNLOADABLE)
Last year, one of our most popular blog posts was our free 2016 content calendar via Google Sheets, complete with sections for your social media posts so that you could plan out your whole year of content marketing. In that spirit, we’ve updated the calendar and once again it’s free to download and use at your discretion.
How to use this content calendar template:
- If you can open it, then it’s saved onto your Google drive. To save your own copy that you can edit, simply go to File –> Make a copy to have your own. There is no need to request us for access to use the sheet. Repeat: There is no need to request us for access to use the sheet!
- Navigate the months using the tabs at the bottom of the screen.
- US Federal holidays are highlighted in blue. Weekends are highlighted in pink. Just so you don’t mistakenly schedule a blog post for the weekend.
- Key dates for the months are listed in Column C-D. We deliberately added a generous helping of silly days (hello, Barbie Day on March 9), famous birthdays and today-in-history entries for the occasional moment when we run out of clever things to say on social media. You can change these of course to the type of content that makes sense for you.
- This calendar was completed within the last few days. Obviously a lot of things can happen between now and 2017. We encourage you to check other sources in case you’re building campaigns around sports and other special event dates.
Ready to plan out your year?
Download our exclusive 2017 Content Calendar Template
Plan out your entire year in one place.
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OLD WORLD, NEW FRONTIERS: CLIENT CELEBRATES HOLIDAY SUCCESS
With Thanksgiving being tomorrow, gratitude has been on my mind a lot lately. While the list of things I am grateful for is extensive, working with amazing, local companies run by incredible people is pretty high on the list. I wanted to take a little bit of time out of my day to say thanks to one of our partners here at Globe Runner, so I made my way to Old World Stoneworks.
Old World Stoneworks is a pioneer in the cast stone fireplace mantel industry that began in Dallas over twenty years ago. Yellow, red, and brown leaves lined the streets of the gorgeous Vickery Place neighborhood on my drive there. General manager Mike Jung and his company have a breathtaking storefront that displays what you should expect when ordering a cast stone fireplace mantel with them.
I got a chance to sit down and talk with Mike about some of the exciting projects him and his company recently wrapped up. Their artisan stonework was featured on the long-running home improvement show “This Old House” on PBS, and the episode will air this season. The showrunners reached out to Mike about installing one of their fireplaces for the house in Arlington, Massachusetts they were renovating. Another exciting development is a partnership with La Madeleine to do cast stone fireplace mantels for some of their locations such as the restaurants in Austin and Fort Worth.
One of the collaborative efforts between Old World and Globe Runner was the updated platform of their website. They sought to make it more retail friendly and Mike told me, “We are excited from a business perspective to see how e-commerce does” in 2017 and beyond.
Old World prides itself on designing and creating their mantels locally. The production of the fireplaces are all done in the Dallas suburb of McKinney. The passion for the product that the entire team shares was infectious. On days like these I can’t help but express how thankful I am thankful for the privilege to work with companies like Old World Stoneworks. I hope you all have a happy Thanksgiving, too.
GOOGLE ADWORDS EXPANDED TEXT ADS – HOW ARE THEY CHANGING PAID SEARCH?
Earlier this year, Google announced expanded text ads that would change the way PPC advertising would work. The main change is that instead of having a 25-character headline with two 35-character descriptions, you’d have two 30-character headlines and an 80-character description to play with.
So what effect does this have on PPC advertising? There are a few things that you’ll need to keep in mind.
Uniformity Across Devices
One of the goals of expanded text ads is to make advertising more uniform across devices. Previously this year, Google cut out side ads on desktop, removing some of the distinction between mobile and desktop devices and—incidentally—allowing more space for ads. This was a natural lead in for expanded text ads.
More Words, More Freedom
Ultimately, expanded text ads allow for nearly 50% more text, and the structure changes somewhat. This doesn’t just mean you’ll have more room to convey your message—you’ll also need to restructure your ads to make the best possible use of the new format.
Some of the rules remain the same. Your headline will most likely be read first, and the description last (if at all), just as before. But now that you have two headlines, you’ll be able to incorporate more information, a stronger call to action, more engaging wording, etc.
You’ll also need to prioritize what goes where, since the first headline will almost certainly be noticed, but the second headline (depending on the device and the length) may appear on a second line or even be truncated.
Mind Your URL
Another change that has been made is the way your URL is displayed in the ad. Expanded text ads extract the display URL from the final URL, which you can then customize with up to two paths tacked on to the end. It’s best to match these paths to your ad’s keywords to make it more relevant—and thus more likely to be clicked.
For more information on PPC services, call or contact the office of Accelerate Online Marketing today.
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