ADVERTISING ON VENMO?
What if you could advertise on a platform that didn’t allow advertising at all? Well, that’s exactly what WATER IS LIFE did.
WATER IS LIFE is a nonprofit. It’s actually the one that my kids selected this year as part of our family Christmas. We’re going to be giving some money to their organization.
When I looked into the organization, I found this strategy and I loved it so much I wanted to do a video on it. What they did is they actually raised money through Venmo. Venmo is a micro money exchange app. It allows you to pay back a friend for pizza or something like that very easily through your phone. But, they don’t allow advertising at all.
What WATER IS LIFE did is instead of advertising on the platform, they sent people money. They literary sent them money. Now, keep in mind, they sent them one penny, but in that one penny exchange they were able to write a description of why they sent them a penny.
They sent them a penny and they said, “Here’s a penny for you,” and asked for some money back. They asked ,”Will you send some money to support clean water around the world?” Really clever marketing strategy.
I bring it up not because I want everybody to go out and send pennies and solicit funds.
I bring it up to say marketing is something that is never dead. It’s never still. It can always be innovated on. And, lastly, push yourself. Push yourself to think beyond where you’ve been before and where you can go in the future.
Thanks so much for reading. If you’d like help coming up with a unique marketing strategy for your business, give us a call. We’d love to talk to you.
ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE AND CONSUMER BEHAVIOR
Let’s get to one of my favorite subjects; artificial intelligence. I love this because I’m such a super tech nerd that I think AI is the coolest thing to talk about. It’s here. It’s real. We really have AI now.
Now, I don’t know if it thinks and feels like we do, but I’ll tell you what it will do. It will start acting as a lot of customer service behaviors will be taken over by AI.
Nowadays, you can get assistants that will manage your emails for you. I’ve got an AI on my computer that helps me write more compelling messages that I just installed a few days ago. It’s reading my text as I’m writing it and making recommendations on how I can get a response.
Wildly cool stuff, but here’s one thing that you can expect. A lot of consumer behaviors will start to be influenced by AI and what I’m here to ask you, or push you on a little bit, is are you thinking about that for your business? Because if you’re not, you will soon be behind the times.
AI is admittedly the future, but it’s a future that’s coming this year, in 2017. It’s not a future that’s long, long away, years and years from now. It’s literary rolling out this year.
I think we’ll start to see major retailers start to pick up AI in their customer service departments and start to respond to people in ways that the consumers are actually happy with and they get an accurate and quick response.
AI, remember, can gather huge amounts of information and answer consumer queries much quicker. So, be thinking about that when you’re thinking about how your business strategy is going to grow and are you going to react to AI and are you going to be able to integrate that effectively and be a market leader in your space?
Thanks so much for reading. If you’d like to brainstorm about AI a little bit, give me a call. I have fun talking about it, just because I think it’s a great subject.
LISTEN UP! VOICE-ACTIVATED MARKETING IS HERE
The day after this year’s Super Bowl, headlines were not just dominated by the New England Patriots’ stunning comeback from a 21-3 halftime deficit; What was stunning was the effect of Google’s one-minute TV ad for its Google Home appliance. It was a promotion that just kept on going right into news media headlines and all over social media for about 36 additional hours.
The ad portrayed people using the device by employing the vocal command: “OK, Google,” to turn on lights, find a replacement for cardamom, find and listen to the sound a whale makes, and how to greet people in Spanish. The voice command in the ad also activated Google Home appliances located in the same room as televisions tuned into the game.
This event illustrated just how pervasive these voice-activated artificial intelligence (AI) appliances are becoming. NextMarket Insights, a tech research firm, is predicting that some 30 million households will have a voice-activated AI appliance by August this year.
Do not ignore the power of voice. The very way in which consumer searches are performed for basic information, especially products and services, is on track for a radical disruption that will sort winners and losers via a fundamentally altered set of rules. This is not an understatement. Voice-activated AI appliances are arriving in living rooms faster and with new demanding challenges that very few prescient industry leaders, let alone organizations large and small, are truly prepared to meet.
Voice Technology Is Now
I’m the CEO of an online marketing firm. But guess what? I’m also dyslexic. So here is my expertise and disclaimer of sorts: I am a long-time user and advocate of dictation technology. I consider myself an early adapter of voice search technology. When I first started using speech recognition technology about two and a half decades ago, it was impossible to describe the experience as anything close to “artificial intelligence.” Today it’s totally different.
Speech recognition has come a long way since the 1952 birth of Audrey, Bell Lab’s complex vacuum tube machine, which recognized spoken digits. By the 80s programs such as Tangora and Dragon Dictate could recognize tens of thousands of words. What held them back from meaningfully entering the consumer market was that they processed “discrete speech,” which _ is _ spoken _ one _ word _ at _ a _ time. I can tell you it was both maddeningly pedestrian and very expensive at $9,000 per set-up.
Then, in 1997 everything changed… Dragon Naturally Speaking hit the market as a Windows software add-on that recognized continuous speech and the price dropped. Two decades later voice-activated AI assistants, working as an app on a smartphone, tablet, or desktop (Apple’s Siri, Google Now, Microsoft’s Cortana and BaiDu’s DuEr) are ubiquitous.
As reported by Apple Insider, Paul Ricci, the CEO at Nuance, which owns Dragon, said, “The real problem is creating a virtual assistant that can understand what the user wants and take action based on anticipating those needs.”
We are very close if not already there. Voice-activated AI appliances keep up with people’s voice search and command speed, their accents, and even pick out their voice in the midst of a crowded or music-filled room. The new battle to enter our daily lives and shape how and what we access is between these AI devices, the abilities they possess and ultimately the experiences they deliver.
Who’s Creating The Rules
VoiceLabs.co, a pioneering voice analytics firm, “predicts between Apple, Samsung and Microsoft, two of the three will ship compelling voice-first devices in 2017.” BaiDu purchased Raven, a voice activated intelligent appliance start-up, this past February. Even Facebook is reportedly trying to find the right foothold in the market.
In the meantime, Google Assistant via Google Home devices and Amazon’s Alexa on Echo devices are both available at varying costs under $200. That leaves Google and Amazon to make the rules, for now, on just what voice-activated intelligent appliances do, and tailoring them to what these two businesses do best, which is not the same thing.
Amazon is primarily an online retailer, while Google is principally an information organizing and delivery service. It should be no surprise that Amazon’s Echo is expected to focus on delivering commerce-oriented experiences, while Google Home will multi-task into improving information organization and delivery, as well as productivity and communication experiences.
The voice-activated AI appliance that will dominate the home market is the one that will deliver the most dynamic and comprehensive user experiences. Third-party application developers including household brands are joining the voice-activated ecosystem to achieve their voice-activated marketing goals.
SEO Challenges In Different Voice-Activated Ecosystems
In order to evolve and meet customers’ voice-demands, it is crucial that we all become more cognizant on how a voice search diverges from a typed search and how the different AI appliances will treat that search.
At this time, the Google Home’s voice-activated Google Assistant can access Google’s vast technical experience and powerful algorithmic resources to deliver answers for simple to complicated voice requests for information, in addition to tasks such as scheduling and recording shopping lists. This is because Google has invested heavily in developing and improving its Hummingbird algorithm, within which are two very potent humanizing algorithms: Knowledge Graph and RankBrain.
While Hummingbird is the umbrella search algorithm, it carries within it many other algorithms such as PageRank (uplifts pages with solid content and links) and Top Heavy (lowers the visibility of ad-heavy pages). Knowledge Graph’s AI intuits what a user is looking for by recognizing and acting upon the relationships between words and therefore context. RankBrian’s AI interprets sentence-length queries akin to the way human beings speak.
Amazon Echo’s voice-activated Alexa operates under a completely different collage of rules that combine the Amazon store’s offerings with select search engines and “skills,” like smartphone apps, that you choose to load on to it. For instance, if a user wants Alexa to access and report the weather, it will rely either on Accuweather.com, or a weather skill that the user has loaded. While the default search engine is Bing, localized searches and recommendations are sourced from Yelp.
In the same manner, Apple iPhone and Samsung Galaxy has focused on developers and apps, so too has Amazon. While the website for the Amazon subsidiary Lab 126, which developed the Alexa AI assistant, is a spare cupboard, at Amazon.com there is ample support for skills developers and also for electronics makers to design Alexa-enabled products.
What This Means For Marketing
Battle lines have been drawn, but so far dominance has not been achieved, especially as not all of the contenders have taken the field. Reviews of Google Home and Amazon Echo are mixed, and depend heavily on what user experience the reviewer was looking to have. You can place a safe bet that Apple, Samsung and BaiDu are paying attention and incorporating solutions to their competitors’ early missteps into their product development.
So without a clear leader, how can a business position itself to survive this disruption? The answer is multifaceted and also depends heavily on the business’ current market position.
Large brands and medium sized companies currently with a national or regional market will need to diversify their marketing approaches. To play by Google’s rules they will at once need to optimize their websites for voice searches that most closely match a voice-activate search.
Large and medium-sized companies will find joining Amazon Echo’s ecosystem hinges on developing an Alexa skill. Campbell’s Soups has already developed Campbell’s Kitchen for Alexa, which will bring up voice-activated audio recipes depending on the meal and the user’s taste and time requirements.
For the Google Home ecosystem, medium and small businesses that depend on geographically local customers will need to ensure their websites are optimized for voice searches, just like the big brands, with an emphasis on their location. For businesses that cannot afford to develop an Alexa enabled skill, or if it just does not fit the business model, ensuring that the website is voice-search optimized for Bing and Google will be a must, but so too will being listed in online guides such as Yelp, HomeAdvisor, or Open Table.
Lastly, all business must be ready to adapt these marketing approaches to what Apple, Samsung, or BaiDu will likely create for the artificial intelligence appliance. And remember: Dominance over what will be the right marketing method for these voice-activated devices has yet to be decided.
If you are looking to get your business ready for the voice activated revolution and want to enter the Google Home and Amazon Echo ecosystems, contact us. We will design a multi-pronged approach that is right for your unique business and ensure that you meet your marketing goals.
Photo Courtesy Flickr/Howard Lake
AMP – ACCELERATED MOBILE PAGES
AMP. Accelerated mobile pages. Now, this is super cool because it’s super fast. On the phone, I get so bogged down waiting for web pages to load and this is the solution to that problem. So, Google actually came out with this recently. It’s an open source structure and it’s a way of producing code that loads incredibly fast. And what AMP actually does, is it takes the code of your website, minimizes it, and then sends it through Google servers. It loads in less than a second.
So while a normal web page might load in 3-10 seconds, AMP loads instantly. And here’s the great part. We can bring AMP onto any website. So, what we’re doing with our clients is we’re moving all of our new builds, and we’re building them using AMP. Some of our legacy clients, we’re slowly adding AMP on to, as well. AMP is an incredible, powerful tool. And here’s the great thing. Not only do your users get onto your website faster, a couple of things happen. One, there’s a giant leap in conversions if we can reduce your page load speed, particularly on mobile. As soon as you cross 3 seconds, your conversion rate will drop through the floor. So if you can get that load speed under 3 seconds, which AMP, at 1 second, is well under, you will get a much better conversion rate.
The other thing is, Google will actually give you search ranking preference so you’ll rank better in mobile search if you’re AMP enabled. Google knows that the user wants a fast page, and they’re going to serve it up faster. Lastly, Google will mark it as an official AMP page on mobile search. You may have even seen it, it looks like a little lightning bolt. Keep your eye out for it, particularly on news and information-related searches. AMP is very common these days on some of the bigger news sites. So, if you haven’t heard of AMP, give me a call and let’s talk about it, I’d love to get it implemented for you. It’ll really speed up your site and speed up your performance.
WHY YOU SHOULD KNOW YOUR CPL LIKE THE BACK OF YOUR HAND
Have you ever run a marketing campaign, spent a little money, got a couple leads, and at the end of your day wondered if it was a good use of your funds? Well, you’re not alone. On a daily basis, I talk to business owners who face the same complication. One of the first and most important metrics to track and determine is a target cost per lead (CPL). If you’re like most business owners, you want lots of leads for very little money. But to truly set up and build a successful campaign, you must first determine the most you are willing to spend on a lead. We all want lots of leads for free, but marketing costs money. The question is, how can you spend your money profitably?
Understanding CPL
CPL is what it costs you to get one lead. So if you spend $10,000 on a marketing campaign and you get 100 leads, your CPL is $100. Whether or not that’s a good deal is completely dependent on your business. Let’s go over how you can determine what a good deal looks like.
We have clients whose target CPL ranges from thousands of dollars to under $20. The easiest way to determine your CPL is to take your average deal size and look at annual customer value. Annual customer value is more helpful for an individual purchase. For instance, if you sell a customer a bag of consumable widgets for $250 on average once a month, then your average customer is worth $3,000 revenue annually. Likewise, if a service provider has a typical engagement size of $12,000, and a customer only buys once a year, then the annual customer revenue is $12,000.
In this example, let’s take a business that has determined their annual customer revenue is $12,000. Determine your gross profit on a deal. For simplicity sake, we’ll go with a 50% gross profit, leaving us with $6,000 in gross profit.
Interested in reading the rest of this article?
You can find the full-length version on Forbes.
GLOBE RUNNER WELCOMES MATT CUTTS AS DIRECTOR OF SEARCH
Note: This was Globe Runner’s 2015 April Fool’s prank.
Contrary to popular belief, Matt Cutts never actually left Google.
You can read more about this on our follow-up post, here.
Matt Cutts and Bill Hartzer from Globe Runner
Globe Runner is pleased to welcome our latest employee, Matt Cutts, as Director of Search. Mr. Cutts, a well-known authority in Search and former head of Google’s Web Spam team, will join Globe Runner effective April 1, 2015.
Cutts brings 15 years of experience in search and is a well-known, respected thought leader in search strategy, search quality, and web spam. Mr. Cutts has been very vocal about search during his tenure at Google. As the lead liaison to webmasters and website owners, he has appeared at numerous search industry conferences, including SMX West, and Pubcon. Mr. Cutts has also appeared in numerous Google Webmaster videos.
Before joining Google, Matt Cutts worked on his Ph.D. in computer graphics at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. He has an M.S. from UNC-Chapel Hill, and B.S. degrees in both mathematics and computer science from the University of Kentucky.
Matt Cutts joins Globe Runner in its holistic approach to digital marketing clients across various marketing channels such as search engine optimization, paid search, social media and email marketing. “I’m honored to have joined a very skilled and experienced international team that delivers valuable digital marketing services to its clients. It’s very refreshing to see an agency where the clients are the number one focus,” said Cutts.
Eric McGehearty, CEO of Globe Runner, states, “Matt’s extensive experience not only includes fighting web spam at Google, he understands the various search engine algorithm ranking factors. While we don’t expect Mr. Cutts to help our SEO team game the Google algorithm, he will be heavily involved with training our current SEO staff. Going forward, we will continue to focus on SEO best practices, and Matt will be a big part of this effort. Combined with his search knowledge, Matt has been active on social media channels such as Twitter, which will help him consult on client accounts that have search and social media accounts.”
Mr. Cutts had the following to say about joining Globe Runner: “I have been in the search industry for several years, and, after a lengthy period of time away from Google, the internet, and social media, I felt it was time for a change. While I have enjoyed my time at Google, by joining an industry-leading Search agency, I felt that I can make much more of a difference in the search industry over the long run.”
If you are interested in working with us here at Globe Runner, feel free to use our contact page on the site.
COMMUNICATE BETTER: WEB DEV LINGO 101
The company website is the new business card. It’s the face you present to the world – a digital handshake, your first impression. As a mission-critical part of any digital marketing plan, getting it right is important.
Maybe you’re creating one for the first time. Perhaps your site simply needs a little updating as part of a brand rediscovery. Whether you’re building it in-house or using a digital marketing and web development firm, you and your team need to speak the same language.
This glossary of basic web development terms will help.
- CMS or Content Management System– WordPress and Drupal are popular examples of a CMS; a software system focused on web content. It creates an easy way for users to make text and image updates to their site without using HTML and allow your development team to add advanced features.
- HTML or Hypertext Markup Language- These are the building blocks of your site. Each web page has a markup language that structures the content therein and has the ability to describe it. Search Engines recognize this as the most basic language on the web, followed by CSS, PHP, ASP, Javascript, jQuery (see below).
- CSS or Cascading Style Sheets- This file tells browsers, mobile phones, tablets, projectors, and other devices how to display your site. Where HTML pages create a foundation, a CSS denotes how it should be styled. This includes regulating the consistency of essential elements like logos, fonts, images, menu pages, etc.
- IA or Information Architecture- Without well-designed, organized text content, your site is nothing but pretty pictures. IA ensures your site is easy to navigate and displays the top features using a planned sitemap and wireframes for each page.
- JavaScript- Programming language #3. This one comes to us from Sun Microsystems Corporation. Web apps use this language for motion elements like drop-downs, scroll-overs, or simple animations. Search Engines are still unable to read Javascript files, but they’re important for your user experience and branding.
- jQuery- This open source JavaScript library uses common functions to accelerate development with complex client-based JavaScript applications. It’s the most popular JavaScript library among programmers, allowing them to easily navigate everything from documents and animations to plug-ins and widgets.
- MySQL- Another open source database management system used in many web applications.
- PHP- Once classified as “Personal Home Page,” today, PHP is understood as an open source, C-like, programming and server-side scripting language. Dynamic websites use them to power millions of open source projects.
- Sitemap- According to our own web development expert, Daniel Edwards, “Sitemap can be a difficult keyword to decipher. It’s both technical and conceptual. Conceptually, it helps drive a site’s navigation and approach. From a technical standpoint, xml feeds illustrate the concept of a website and inform Google how large or small the site is.”
- UI or User Interface/UX or User Experience– Anything a user can view and manipulate on your site or app makes up the user interface. These include the screen itself, cursors, and keyboards as well as the menus. Conversely, the user experience (UX) has to do with a person’s emotions, attitudes, and ease-of-use accessing your website. Improving the UX Design of your site, improves the user experience of your site, making it easier for them to interact with your product or service.
- Wireframe– This “skeletal” foundation of your site is a visual representation of its content sans design. It’s more concerned with the layout structure than the text or graphics that will eventually flesh it out.
Even if your job never requires you to become fully fluent in web design, it’s good to have a basic grasp of the language. The sooner you get your site up and running, the sooner you can focus on driving more web traffic to it.
SHOWCASE SELECTED STUDENT ARTWORK FROM SHELTON SCHOOL
For more than forty years the June Shelton School and Evaluation Center, a center famous for its unparalleled curriculum, dedicated its resources and highly trained staff to helping those who learn differently engage and empower themselves for the future. By doing this, they encouraged all students with learning differences, such as dyslexia, to work toward a common goal and reach educational milestones successfully.
Among its staff are various Alumni including the reputable entrepreneur and Globe Runner CEO Eric McGehearty, a man who proudly credits a large portion of his success to the time he spent studying with the professional staff of the Shelton School. As a means to give back some of that amazing success he gained from attending this school, Eric, along with his SEO and online Marketing Company, decided to once again represent the amazing talent found at Shelton School.
During this event, parents and guests are invited to see some of the Shelton School’s best artists showcasing their work. Among the pieces to be shown, expect to see artists of all age groups and backgrounds, as well as a variety of learning differences. Through differences come unique perspectives, and guests might just leave with a renewed sense of wonder.
The student showcase begins on Monday, February 20th and will run until Friday, February 24th. On opening night, Monday, February 20th, parents are invited to come see the talent of their children and their children’s classmates firsthand.
In total, roughly 20 art pieces of all mediums will be viewable at Gallery 550, located inside Globe Runner’s Addison office. This is only the second time in the school’s history that students will show in one of Addison’s few art exhibits, as well as the city’s second business and gallery combination.
“As a sculptor and MFA graduate of the University of North Texas, supporting and encouraging future artists is as close to my heart as the Shelton School itself,” Eric says, “The goal of Gallery 550 was always to make meaningful contributions to the Addison community through art. I’m so pleased to have found a way to support both the community at large as well as the invaluable work and enormous talent of the Shelton School.”
Linda Kneese, Head of Shelton School, says, “The arts are a very important part of the education students receive at Shelton. We are proud to be able to highlight their talents in this show.”
About Globe Runner
Globe Runner is an Addison, Texas based search engine optimization (SEO), content marketing and digital advertising agency. It has over 60 local, national and international B2C and B2B clients in consumer-packaged goods (CPG), beauty, credit repair, fashion, healthcare, home and interiors, jewelry, legal services and sports. Globe Runner sits on the boards of the Dallas Fort Worth Search Engine Marketing Association (DFWSEM) and the Social Media Club of Dallas (SMC Dallas). The agency’s staff and work have been featured in the Wall Street Journal, Forbes and Adweek.
About June Shelton School and Evaluation Center
The June Shelton School and Evaluation Center was founded by Dr. June Ford Shelton in 1976. It has since grown over its 40 years into an international demonstration, resource and research center. With a staff of almost 250 the Shelton School serves close to 915 students with learning differences, including dyslexia and related disorders. The school provides specific instruction/remediation for students in pre-school (3 years of age) through 12th grade in a supportive and nurturing atmosphere. Drama, music, art, library and PE/athletics enhance the total school program.
Shelton’s Evaluation Center provides psycho-educational assessments for clients from the Dallas area and beyond. The Teacher Education department provides teacher training in a variety of programs including SEE, Alphabetic Phonics, the Association Method and Montessori Applied to At-Risk students. Other private services offered at Shelton include Occupational Therapy and Sensory Integration and Social Skills Therapy. Both services are provided through Integrative Pediatrics.
HOW TO IMPLEMENT SCHEMA INTO YOUR CONTENT
If you’re looking for a new technique to enhance your SEO, Schema is a powerful tool to boost your search engine result pages, also referred to as (SERPs). Not too many people use Schema, but it’s something that most people see and interact with on a daily basis.
Why Is It Important?
Not only does Schema enhance your general search engine results, and the way that they are displayed to users, but they can improve your click through rates on your website. Schema allows Google to show your website to a larger variety of searches, further gaining the attention of a wider audience.
Where & How To Use Schema
There are a variety of ways you can implement Schema into your own content in order to enhance your rich snippets, and expand your audience.
When you use Schema markup on your own company reviews, you can cherry pick which ones you like the most, and have those displayed to users. Keep in mind you might consider throwing in at least a 4.0 star review, over 5 star reviews to make it seem more realistic. A 4.8 star review will make your company stand above the rest, without looking too good to be true.
Health plays an important role in our lifestyles today, and with everyone monitoring their calories (especially with the New Year just starting), restaurants will want to inform their customers of the nutrition facts for their food. If you’re a restaurant owner, or any type of food related industry, an easy way to add Schema to your business page is to use the markup to create nutritional facts for your users to read.
Other Examples
Celebrities/Public Figures
This example of Oprah Winfrey shows specific information about her life, including her birth date, zodiac sign, and educational background. This information was embedded in the code in order to produce the rich snippet and improve SERPs.
Events
When you use a site, such as Ticketmaster, it’s easy to see the Schema implemented in the search results. By incorporating Schema, they’re getting free additional links, as you can see in the sample, by providing specific dates and show times that link directly to that performance to purchase a ticket.

Movies
The next time you search for a movie, or a website, such as IMBD, you’ll find that Schema comes in handy when trying to find specific information, like ratings and genre.


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